lenore: how to love your depressed lover

blkcowrie ❀

29906784996811698_PLVpAF2U_c

Last night I thought I kissed
the loneliness from out your belly button.
I thought I did, but later you sat up,
all bones and restless hands, and told me that
there is a knot in your body that I cannot undo.

*

I never know what to say to these things.

“It’s okay.” “Come back to bed.”

“Please don’t go away again.”
*
Sometimes you are gone for days at a time
and it is all I can do not to call the police,
file a missing person’s report, even though
you are right there, still sleeping next to me
in bed. But your eyes are like an empty house
in winter: lights left on to scare away intruders.
*
Except in this case I am the intruder and you
are already locked up so tight that no one
could possibly jimmy their way in.
*
Last night I…

View original post 78 more words

Leave a Reply

